The Deal With Birkenstocks – Let’s Talk

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 11.56.28 AM.png

For the past few years, Birkenstocks have been coming back in style. And as far as I know it, people either hate them, or love them. But what’s the deal with them? What’s so intriguing? What’s so appalling? Let’s cut to the chase.

I used to think that Birkenstocks were a huge joke. I frowned upon people who wore them because it looked as if you were walking with the sandals from ancient Jerusalem. I thought they were unflattering, and definitely not what you get for the price here in the US: $125-140 depending on the style. Let’s repeat: or soΒ I thought.

Not until I got into blogs, fashion, all the sorts. I continuously browsed through pictures of celebrities..wearing these..Birkenstocks..

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 3.27.56 PMScreen Shot 2016-07-27 at 3.30.13 PM

Then I realized that there was something about these shoes. It gives off aΒ type of coolness, chicness, and also a bit of je m’en fiche. All together, it kind of works. Looking through different outfits paired with these sandals really emphasized the “it-can-go-with-everything” hype. Just look at the pictures above. The girl to the left dressed it up, and Mary-Kate Olsen kept it casual (you know it’s high fashion when it’s on the foot of an Olsen). AND IT ALL WORKS!

Sure it’s not your classic blazer or office wear, but these shoes have some type of sophistication to it. And don’t lie to me, you see it too.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 3.29.05 PMScreen Shot 2016-07-27 at 3.28.25 PM

So after all that browsing and staring-in-awe-ing, I decided to give it a go. I mean, if they can pull it off, I can too, right? Right? The good thing about the timing of this life-changing decision was that I was in Korea (I still am but that’s besidesΒ the point). So Birkenstocks are 70,000 won here, which is a little less than $70 US dollars. Compare that to the price in the States, I basically got a 50% discount.

*And Stan Smiths are like over $120 dollars here which I don’t understand..

Back to the point. I wore these immediately the day after I purchased them, and oh my god I slipped my feet into them and they were heavenly. They were so comfortable that by the time I was walking on the streets, I didn’t even care if they looked good or not. My feet were having too much of a good time.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 4.03.24 PM.png
These are my feet, my friends.

But, I do understand why there is so much hatred against these Birks. It’s just the people that have never tried these babies on. But, I’ll be honest, they’re not the most flattering shoes. They’re stylish and trendy, but not pretty. But at the end of the day, if your feet are happy, and your outfit’s happy, it’s all good, right?

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 3.28.15 PMScreen Shot 2016-07-27 at 3.28.55 PM

So let me know what you think about these Birkenstocks. Feel free to comment down below your truthful feelings.

Sincerely,

Sophia πŸ™‚

*All pictures courtesy of Google

29 thoughts on “The Deal With Birkenstocks – Let’s Talk

  1. I use to think I hate them until like you said I tried them on. I think good quality ones are actually kinda cute . When their made out of real leather , their really good and last for ages. So when you think about it if it suits your style their actually a great pair of shoes – comfortable , good to your feet and last for more than one season. Plus it kinda gives you a reason to mix and match and play around with your outfits – find what works and what doesn’t.

    Great post Sophia , I really enjoyed reading it !!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great article Sophia! Personally, I don’t think I’ll ever be a Birkenstocks girl. Maybe those sporty-chic slip ons (ie: the Puma slippers). Birks may not be for me, but I do love them on other bloggers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel like other people’s views on something really changes my own sometimes! Birkenstocks are actually very versatile and can be worn in so many ways

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

