Photo Diaries – Denver

Farewell, Denver! You’ve been good to me. Currently I’m in the airport, getting ready to leave, but only to hear that my flight has been delayed for 2 hours. My foot’s asleep, it’s freezing cold here, and my eyes are drooping on me. Sitting here doing nothing has gotten me reminiscing of the experiences I’ve had this past week and all the sights that I saw. Traveling to smaller cities like Denver really changes my perspective on the whole world. Really deep and cheesy, I know. Shows that no city/country/place is ever too “terrible” for a visit. But my want for traveling around the world has significantly increased, and it’s now so high up on my bucket list. I had such low expectations for this city, and wasn’t too excited except for the fact that I’d be spending my time here with a good friend.

It all hit me. Denver has so much to offer. Lots more than I expected. First of all, I had my first Uber encounter here and I’m pretty amazed. The service is really great, and I was so skeptical of trying it out because of the infamous “Uber kidnapping stories”. Haha, yes, I know. And in case any of you travel to Denver any time soon, know that the Uber fares are SO INCREDIBLY CHEAP. I was in the car for about 20 minutes, and the fare was $7. Yes, $7.

Another thing I learned here was that the portions are exceptionally large. All the half sizes, or the small sizes compare to New York and New Jersey’s large. For the price point, so much food comes onto your plate and I’m quite afraid to see what a Colorado “large-sized” portion looks like. Anyways, here are some of my eats, some great food. 🙂

*Really really recommend Parsley and Olive and Finch!

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetIMG_6809

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
12 am nachos ftwww

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Not only is food such a big deal here in Denver, but the sights. I only went to Downtown Denver’s 16th Street Mall today, but there are murals everywhere and the whole area is so photogenic. The streets are so fun to walk around on, and it’s perfect for a quick shopping trip.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I also visited Union Station, and it’s really great how they newly renovated the whole place. It’s apparently a historic site which also doubles up as a hotel, and there’re little shops in the “lobby”. Many tourists go there, and sit on the chairs, drink by the bar, play these weird pool games, or eat food. My mom and I got some ice cream (I ordered a single scoop and the dude gave me like 3.. Big portions.. again.. which is pretty great) It’s nice to just relax and take a break from all the walking around 16th street or in Denver in general.

IMG_6978Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Aaaaaaaannnd other pictures from my trip:

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a4 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a4 presetIMG_6733Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

So now that I’m done writing and all, I’m just gonna doze off here for the next hour and a half, and probably sleep some more on my 4 hour plane ride. Bye for now

-Sophia 🙂

8 thoughts on “Photo Diaries – Denver

Leave a Reply

