New York, My Home – Outfit 7-11-16

Another day in New York City, what’s new? I’ve basically spent half of my summer here so far, and I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of it. Everything is so aesthetically pleasing, whether it be the view of the concrete jungle, or a nicely-placed garbage bag on the side of the road…okay, maybe not so much. Anyways, today was the perfect day to visit the city! The sun was shining, the wind was breezing, and yet it was only about 80 degrees or so.

Screen Shot 2016-07-11 at 12.07.46 PM

Button-downs are my staple for summer ’16. I’m pretty sure I’ve worn one at least 3 times per week. Funny story, I was going through my parents’ closet with clothes from the ’90s, and in the waaay back I  found at least 20 pieces that are on trend to this day. I guess we can say fashion repeats itself, no?

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 10.39.13 AM.png

Today I’m wearing this striped short sleeve button down. I left the first two buttons loose so my necklaces would be able to peek through, and I tucked the rest of the shirt into my shorts.

This shirt is originally from Old Navy, but I’m almost positive that they don’t sell these anymore since it’s been almost 20 or so years since my father bought this. (Oh, by the way, this is a men’s shirt, haha 🙂 ) So instead, I found a strikingly similar shirt from Nautica, which you can purchase here.

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 1.29.55 AM

The shorts that I’m wearing were originally jeans from American Eagle, but I personally cut and distressed them. A comparable pair of denim shorts can be bought here.

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 10.39.22 AM.png

For my shoes, I’m wearing a white slip on sandal by GC. Unfortunately, I’m not so sure if the line is discontinued, but a dupe can be found here. I had a very love-hate relationship with these sandals. On the first day of wearing them, my feet got sweltering blisters, and it was the most uncomfortable experience. Although, they were so cute and effortless that I gave it a second chance. I realized all I had to do was to “break them in” and by the end of the day, my feet were fine!

Screen Shot 2016-07-11 at 8.31.10 AM.png

Henry Bendel Bazaar Single Strap Bracelet

I received this and another bracelet as a graduation gift from my aunt, and I cannot stop wearing them! They’re very versatile and can go with any outfit.

Unfortunately, these are currently out of stock on the Henri Bendel website, but a similar type of bracelet can be found here.

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 10.39.07 AM.png

Leather Chain Necklace – Amazon

Amazon is my go-to, always. They have some really great stuff at really affordable prices. I recently purchased this leather necklace, and there are so many different ways to style it. With today’s outfit, I wrapped the strap around my neck two times, giving a look of a choker, and I tied it along the end.

Screen Shot 2016-07-11 at 8.31.22 AM

Screen Shot 2016-07-11 at 8.31.28 AM

Multiple-Strand Necklace

The worst part about receiving jewelry as a gift is that you can never check which store they’re from! Anyways, this necklace has three beautiful layers, and accompany each other perfectly.

*Again, I attached the links onto the titles of the pieces, so if you were interesting in buying the products, please don’t hesitate to click!

See you next post!

-Sophia

23 thoughts on “New York, My Home – Outfit 7-11-16

Leave a Reply

