Disappointing Products..

Unfortunately, there were some products that completely and utterly…sucked. It’s a shame when some products get so much hype but they turn out to be a big disappointment. But that’s just life, I guess? Anyways, these unsatisfying products are in the hands of my opinions and experiences, so if you had a different encounter, just comment it down below 🙂

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 12.17.31 AMScreen Shot 2016-07-10 at 12.17.37 AM

Iridescent Pressed Powder in Delicacy – MAC

After hearing so much rave and appreciation for this product, I was so excited when I received this. When I opened the compact, the product looked stunning, absolutely stunning. The adoration all came to an end when I swatched it onto the back of my hand. I cringed.

First of all, the sparkles. There is WAY too much glitter/sparkles in the highlight that you look like you just came back from a 5 year old’s birthday party, and you plummeted into a bowl of craft glitter face down. And I’m not joking.

Another problem was the texture. It’s just, so dry. I could feel some of the cracks in the compact, and knew immediately that it wouldn’t be compatible with dry skin. The excess glitter overwhelms the powder and you feel bumps and ridges all over. The product was very unflattering in my opinion, and for the price, a handful of better options are available.

While looking for the link for this product, I noticed they stopped the production for the powder, and replaced it with another shade, Sparkling Rose. I’ve fortunately heard better reviews for that, so you can get it here.

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 12.17.43 AM

Highlighting Blush in New Order – NARS

This. Oh. Here I was in denial of labeling this product. I’ve decided to settle down with a blush. After all, it was pink. I’m sure it was a dual-use product, as a highlighter and a blush. But all over the concept (well, this one in particular) screams “bad idea”. The “blush” is so highly pigmented with the pink that no matter how little you apply with a brush, you won’t leave your vanity without looking like a doll. The glitter in this is so chunky and cheap, particularly the same as the Iridescent Pressed Powder.

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 12.17.52 AM

Lights Camera Flashes – Tarte

I’ve also heard a lot of great feedback from youtubers and bloggers about this particular mascara. It claimed to give volume, and nice, wispy lashes.

The initial problem was the wand. It had thick, spiky bristles and it’d poke my waterline each time I tried to apply it on. The pain was awful. I decided to give the mascara another chance, so I practiced and got used to the motions. Although, one day when I pulled the wand out of the tube, ALL THE PRODUCT WAS GLOPPED ONTO THE WAND. I cannot even explain the sight throughly, it was terrible. The wand was just a stick completely covered in mascara formula. It was a makeup junkie’s nightmare.

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 6.07.01 PM

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 6.07.06 PM

La Ligne De Chanel Professional Eyeliner Duo – Chanel 

Again, I heard awesome reviews on this eyeliner duo, so I was really excited to receive this as a gift, especially since it’s a part of Chanel’s makeup collection, which I’ve heard great feedback from. Sadly, this disappointed me greatly. I read some reviews specifically explaining how this had “an outstanding value” because it would never smudge nor flake. Ironically, it’d smudge all over my eyelid by the end of the day. First, the “smoky” liner (left) was so incredibly dry that I might as well have gotten a black eyeshadow and used that instead. I tried using the glitter liner (right), and it just left a glob of sparkle in the traces of the liner on my eye. Might as well have called this an eyeshadow duo. For the price of this, I’m sure a lot of better options were available.

So that’s that for now. These products were just the highlight of the worst experiences I’ve had, and I’m sure there will be many more in the future. Of course, my experiences may not be the same for everyone, but I’m just here to fill you in with my ordeals.

*Please comment down below some blog ideas!

See you again 😉

-Sophia

20 thoughts on “Disappointing Products..

  1. I love reading disappointing products too cuz somethings are just too hyped! Especially before getting something expensive. Yes the tarte wand is abit tricky to work with and I always end stabbing myself in the eye. LoL. I do prefer benefit roller mascara. Another way is to wipe off the wand each time your done so it wont be as bad and clumpy when you use the next time. Shall follow your blog. Loved reading your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is exactly why people need to try various kinds of products and not stick to browsing the price-tags. Some of my better beauty items are cheap-as-hell from bargain shops like Kmart (like the American version of Walmart) and some of the expensive ones are just meh (why did I spend that money!?) So girls, take advantage of samples you can try and definitely don’t stick to the belief that the more expensive, the better. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

